Servotester with NE555 timer adapted to drive for modelrailway turnouts

44 Posts
6 Users
14 Likes
keknor
(@keknor)
Topic starter  

Hello,

I need help to find fault in my perfboard. I have used Dronebot scematic for servo tester

: Then I have used Tinkercad, adjusted som resistores and have a god result for the speed and the angle of the servo. Then I have made a plan in Sketchup for the layout on a perfboard. Then I have solderes all the components on the perfboard and by applying power (5v) nothing happens..... I have tried to find faults in the schematic and in the perfboard itself but have not found the error. Can anyone help? See the following pictures. ( ps I am a beginner in electronics with some experience)

Servo driver for pointmotor by keknor
Layout for perfboard
IMG E7864
IMG E7865

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Ron
 Ron
(@zander)
Father of a miniature Wookie

I can see a lot of suspicious solder joints and a few that are for sure bad. I think your soldering iron needs to be hotter, and try using either a liquid flux or paste and go over all the solder points again to make them perfect. A good starting point is 650F, then if results warrant +50 for lead free and -50F for lead. I also prefer the thinner solder wire as it melts faster and has a higher flux to solder ratio, but don't go to small. All my gear is in transit so I can't measure my solder.

If you are seeing too much solder buildup, use a desoldering wick. Pick a size that matches the trace size on the PCB plus a large size or even a special 'mat' for large areas of cleanup.

First computer 1959. Retired from my own computer company 2004.
Hardware - Expert in 1401, and 360, fairly knowledge in PC plus numerous MPU's and MCU's
Major Languages - Machine language, 360 Macro Assembler, Intel Assembler, PL/I and PL1, Pascal, Basic, C plus numerous job control and scripting languages.