Notifications
Clear all

WiFiManager Tutorial Doesn't Seem to Work

24 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@fishbone)
Topic starter  

@zander  You are 100% correct.  For coding in Arduino framework, I think Arduino environment seems to be best.  I first chose PlatformIO because of some of the editing features and debug features (esp32-C3 has embedded JTAG so you can debug without additional hardware).  However, I believe Arduino 2.x has these features as well so like you said, it makes more sense to use it.   I'll probably finish up this project on PIO then pull the whole thing into Arduino.

ReplyQuote
Ron
 Ron
(@zander)
Father of a miniature Wookie

@fishbone I think you will find as I have there is almost never a need for a debugger. The reason is the majority of the code is in libraries so we only need to write a few dozens or hundreds and very rarely as much as a KLOC (thousand lines of code) Of course when I was a pro, I often wrote in excess of 100KLOC and even had to debug millions of LOC. Even then most debugging was done with the debugger between my ears and no such thing as hardware debugger.

I think the arduino IDE has a software debugger where you can put in 'watch's' and single step your way thru but I have yet to need any of that. My advanced debugging is using mqtt to send the equivalent of serial.println to a raspberry pi screen. Write small functional modules and you will have fewer bugs.

BTW, all you need to do to use the arduino IDE is to rt click and 'Open In' I don't think you need anything more.

First computer 1959. Retired from my own computer company 2004.
Hardware - Expert in 1401, and 360, fairly knowledge in PC plus numerous MPU's and MCU's
Major Languages - Machine language, 360 Macro Assembler, Intel Assembler, PL/I and PL1, Pascal, Basic, C plus numerous job control and scripting languages.
Sure you can learn to be a programmer, it will take the same amount of time for me to learn to be a Doctor.

ReplyQuote
(@fishbone)
Topic starter