Notifications
Clear all

ESP32 to Nextion HMI Lessons Learned

25 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@rebeljd)
Topic starter  

I’ve been using ESP32’s on many of my recent projects and decided to incorporate a Nextion HMI into my latest.  I’ve never used a touch screen display before so I did the usual and looked on line for some help.  There was plenty of information using an Arduino but the content I found on using an ESP32 seemed lacking and often useless.  Fortunately the DroneBot Workshop Forum came through again and I found some help that pointed me at the ”Easy Nextion Library”. Thanks to member HuckOhio for the great tip.  I’m not an experienced programmer and I’m sure there are different and perhaps better ways of doing this, but I learned a lot about the Nextion and thought it would be appropriate to share my lessons learned as a small pay back to past and current help from this forum. 

I wanted to use Serial Port 2 on the ESP to interface with the Nextion but I could not get that to work using the Nextion Library.  However, I was able to get it to work with the “Easy Nextion Library” thanks to the fine work by Athanasisos Seitanis on the library.   You can communicate with the device without using a library and I was successful in both sending a receiving data that way, but libraries make things much easier by doing all the heavy lifting for you.  So that is the path I took.

The Nextion, as you likely know, is much more than a display.  It is a smart device that if used to its full capabilities can greatly simplify coding in whatever MCU you are using with it.  It does need to be programmed, compiled and uploaded to the HMI itself using the Nextion Editor.  And there are many additional features and add-ons that I have not tried yet.  The product seems to be growing and improving.