LiFePo4 Over discharge voltage protection

31 Posts
6 Users
5 Likes
Timo88
(@timo88)
Topic starter  

Hi All,

For my ESP8266 powered project (several will be placed in the vegetable garden) I have been using NiMH batteries and a step down converter for testing.
I'm considering switching to a single LiFePo4 18650 Cell, but I have never used these before.

My idea is to charge the battery at home  and simply change the battery when it's empty (not a problem in this case).
But I guess I also need to monitor the battery level for over-discharging.
Is it a realistic idea to do that using the esp8266 ADC instead of with a BMS like solution?
(turn the device "off" when voltage goes below 2.5 volt)

Thank you, Timo

Ron
 Ron
(@zander)
Father of a miniature Wookie

@timo88 Your best and safest way is to use a TP4056, which does everything needed. Here is one of many possible links LINK

First computer 1959. Retired from my own computer company 2004.
Hardware - Expert in 1401, and 360, fairly knowledge in PC plus numerous MPU's and MCU's
Major Languages - Machine language, 360 Macro Assembler, Intel Assembler, PL/I and PL1, Pascal, Basic, C plus numerous job control and scripting languages.
Sure you can learn to be a programmer, it will take the same amount of time for me to learn to be a Doctor.

Inq reacted
ReplyQuote
Inq
 Inq
(@inq)

Posted by: @timo88

Hi All,

For my ESP8266 powered project (several will be placed in the vegetable garden) I have been using NiMH batteries and a step down converter for testing.
I'm considering switching to a single LiFePo4 18650 Cell, but I have never used these before.

My idea is to charge the battery at home  and simply change the battery when it's empty (not a problem in this case).
Is it a realistic idea to do that using the esp8266 ADC instead of with a BMS like solution?
(turn the device "off" when voltage goes below 2.5 volt)

Thank you, Timo