Notifications
Clear all

Voltage Readings

12 Posts
3 Users
5 Likes
(@jimterry2000)
Topic starter  

Hello there i have been messing around with an ESP32 trying to read two separate car battery voltage readings using two external ADC  ADS1115 to help . Our Voltage range is 0-32 volts.

We are trying to achieve a very accurate reading on both can you help , as we are getting one accurate reading but not so good on the other. 

Inst-Tech
(@inst-tech)

(@jimterry2000), Hi, if you could be a little more specific on exactly what problems you are experiencing would help..A connection drawing , schematic , a photo of how you are connecting the ADS1115 to the ESP32 would be a great help.  Also include the code you are using to read the ADS1115 on your ESP32.

Good luck with your project,

regards,

LouisR

LouisR

Inq reacted
ReplyQuote
(@jimterry2000)
Topic starter  

Thanks Louise i am very very new to this , so please can you give me a bit of time to get the info you need ready. 

Jim

Inst-Tech reacted
ReplyQuote
Inq
 Inq
(@inq)

I completely agree with @inst-tech.  There could be a hundred things wrong... hardware, wiring, using wrong pins, software program.  Without the details of what you have done, we'd be shooting in the dark. 

It seemed kind of strange to me why the range is 0-32V.  A lead-acid car battery even being charged only goes up to 14.5V.  You could set the range 0 to 16V and double your voltage resolution.

I read the details on the ADS1115.  It sounds like an impressive (if a little pricy) ADC.   I see it uses I2C (IIC) for communicating...

1. Are you familiar with using I2C?
  2. It allows for multiple boards being used. 
  3. You can have both ADS1115's on the same two logic wires, but you must change the address on one of them.  Did you do that?
  4. image
  5. OR... You can have ADS115's on two separate I2C busses by using another pair of logic wires.
  6. image
  7. We'd need to see the software, and the wiring diagram (or photo)