Very new. Very Stuck on ESP32cam and not able to load proper libraries

20 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
zosima
(@zosima)
Topic starter  

Greetings,

I am very new to computer science and microprocessors. I am learning to use my ESP32 cam with FTDI adapter and I have been stuck on a few errors while trying to follow the directions on the Dronebot Workshops beginner video. 

First error: I can't locate "COM4" under port

Second error: An error comes up after I try and compile the example WebServerCam sketch. I get:

"Arduino: 1.8.19 (Mac OS X), Board: "AI Thinker ESP32-CAM, 240MHz (WiFi/BT), QIO, 80MHz"

app_httpd.cpp:22:24:

fatal error: fd_forward.h: No such file or directory

Multiple libraries were found for "WiFi.h"
compilation terminated.

Used: /Users/HAL/Library/Arduino15/packages/esp32/hardware/esp32/2.0.3/libraries/WiFi
Not used: /private/var/folders/23/vbg856dn2_z3qz49tw20b1l00000gn/T/AppTranslocation/13A1852D-2810-474F-A309-243D4F7823E4/d/Arduino.app/Contents/Java/libraries/WiFi
exit status 1

fd_forward.h: No such file or directory

This report would have more information with
"Show verbose output during compilation"
option enabled in File -> Preferences."

I have tried to find the .zip file that includes this library but I can't get that to work either. Can anyone help direct me on how I can resolve this issue to be able to start playing with my ESP32. 

Thanks in advance,

Andre

Ron
 Ron
(@zander)
Father of a miniature Wookie

@zosima Yes, the facial detection part was left out of the latest branch. I had the same issue and fixed it but I don't remember how. Bedtime now but I will focus on it first thing tomorrow. Can't help with the com4 issue, I am Mac. Also no need for FTDI on my ESP32-CAM boards, they are USB from AI-Thinker. If you google fd_forward.h you will see some chatter about it.

THE FIX is Tools/Board/Boards Manager search on ESP32, select version 1.0.6 and install.