Cyber Spies and the Coronavirus

59 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
Robo Pi
(@robo-pi)
Robotics Engineer
Topic starter  

I'm a creature of habit to the extreme.  I've been shopping at Walmart for my groceries for many years now.   And I have to confess that I buy pretty mundane groceries.  I'm happy eating the same few things all the time.  I mean, I have a varied diet, but it's still pretty much the same old things over and over again.

In any case I have always shopped in-person.  I walk through the store and pick the stuff off the shelves myself and I even ring them out at a self-serve station paying for them with my debit card.

So far so good.

But now we have this nasty corona virus threat.  I already have COPD if I get the corona virus you'll see another tick mark on corona virus deaths.  Let's face it, if I'm already wheezing now it's a fair bet that I'm not going to do well trying to fight off the corona virus.

Okay, not meant to panic anyone, but it never hurts to play it safe right?   I already live all alone in a cottage in the woods so I'm fairly much in a state of self-quarantine naturally.  However I do need to go buy groceries.   In fact, I would like to go out and stock up on food so I don't need to go shopping for a while.  Why expose myself to the public when I don't need to?

So to make a long story a bit shorter I've decided to use the Walmart pick-up program.   I'll still need to drive over to the store to pick up the groceries.  And I'll still need to interact with the person who brings them out to my car.  But let's face it, that brings the contact with other people to about as minimum as it can be.

So where does the cyber spy come in?

Well, I just set up an account on Walmart to do this grocery pick-up thingy.   And then I started to shop online at Walmart to fill my cart with the things I would like to buy.   On their online shopping page they  have a feature where you can click on a heart to put your favorite foods into your favorites list.