Clear all

I built my own 555!

10 Posts
4 Users
3 Likes
VE1DX
(@ve1dx)
Topic starter  

OK, not really.  But I've been eyeing this kit for 6 months or more.  Finally got it.  And, after a bit of soldering, I had a gigantic 555 timer.  Works well . . . at least it flashes LEDs properly.

IMG 4688

- Paul VE1DX

robotBuilder
(@robotbuilder)

And do you understand how the 555 module works at the level of the transistors and resisters? This circuit is itself made from smaller modules understandable in themselves all the way down to the transistor and resister. Useful circuits, like useful software functions, can be used as single modular units to build more  complex modules without understanding their internal workings only needing to know how to use them.

ReplyQuote
VE1DX
(@ve1dx)
Topic starter  

More or less.  I didn't analyze what every component does, but I have a general idea.  The point of getting this kit was because it was a novelty.  I've been using 555s since the 1970s. 

I couldn't agree more about your software comparison.  I was lucky enough to spend 8-10 years in a Pascal-only shop, and while that language has pretty much disappeared, it certainly cements the idea of modular, structured programming in a person's mind.

Paul VE1DX

strongheart reacted
ReplyQuote
VE1DX
(@ve1dx)
Topic starter  
IMG 4885

They all do the same thing. The SMD/SMT version was a challenge in soldering with an iron, but it works well.  They "crammed" all the stuff shown in the big one into the little one circa 1971.  Imagine the billions of components on a 2020 era CPU.

Paul VE1DX

ReplyQuote
WolfgangW
(@wolfgangw)

@ve1dx

I just read what you did - lol Everybody tries to make things smaller but you go the other way.

But hey, I admire what you did, honestly. Noone of us can make a micro circuit without the matching machine. You make the big guy to understand what is it doing and that is admirable.