Clear all

The nRF24L01 - Wireless Joystick for Arduino Robot Car with nRF24L01+

40 Posts
13 Users
3 Likes
jBo
 jBo
(@jbo)

Here is a picture of my setup, as described above.

Screenshot from 2021 08 16 11 08 19

This is for the reliable datagram demo, with the xmit on the left, with its USB0 serial monitor above the code. On the right is the receiver sketch, with its USB1 serial monitor above it.

So, the "client" side gets some joystick values, tries to send them, and then reports failure of sendtoWait(). On the right, the "server" side starts up OK, far as I can tell, but never receives any transmissions. The "Receiver loop() begin" note appears every 10 minutes, just so I can know it is actually connected.

I should mention that I did get a successful transfer, two datagrams in all these trials. So I'm not sure what to think.

In theory, theory and practice are the same.
In practice, they're different.

ReplyQuote
(@rclawn)

I am new at this. tThe tutorials are usually pretty easy. Walking into a fairly complex youtube project was difficult.

Anyone having issues with this project should:

Use the capacitor close to the transmitter. I put 100uF 16v across the 3.3v on the adapter.

The other issue I had was with the jumper wires that came with the elegoo kit.

ReplyQuote
(@rclawn)

@troles were you able to add the 2 switches to your joystick?

ReplyQuote
dkc1959
(@dkc1959)

Hi

I recently purchased some of the NRF24L01P + PA + LNA modules with the aim of creating a telemetry solution for a family member with a very long driveway to monitor among other things, mailbox status, vehicle entry etc. As a starting point however, I planned on using this wireless joystick project to familiarise myself with the radio side of things, and result in a fun toy for my grandkids. I was provided with the PCB antenna version in error, but the supplier corrected this and let me keep both versions (rare service).