Clear all

Stepper Motor and DM320T Driver

11 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
 Kirk
(@kirk)
Topic starter  

I am having a problem getting the shaft of a NEMA 17 motor to rotate. I have attached a wiring diagram and the Arduino code provided by OMC.  I am using an Arduino Uno with output controls on digital pins 6 and 7. I am interfacing the Uno to a DM320T Driver manufactured by OMC (www.omc-stepperonline.com). I am using a 12V power source for the driver. The motor is manufactured by Polulu and is described as unipolar/bipolar, 6 wire, 200 steps/rev, 1.2A/phase, 42x48 mm.
I set up the circuit using the DM320 User manual in bipolar mode (I think) with center taps of A and B windings disconnected. The attached diagram shows DIP settings and wiring. I have some electronics background but limited experience with stepper motors. I have successfully used a ULN2003 driver with a NEMA 11 motor and an UNO. I am wondering about a timing issue or wrong motor (200 steps/rev) or defective driver?

I watched the You Tube video on controlling big motors.  It would be helpful to have a layout of a working system.  Please let me know if the diagram is readable-I'm trying new software =Diagram Designer.

Code

//DM542T

int x;

void setup() {

pinMode(7,OUTPUT);    //Set Pin 7 as PUL

pinMode (6,OUTPUT);   //Set Pin 6 as DIR 

}

void loop() {

digitalWrite(6,HIGH);     //Set high level direction

for (x=0; x<400;x++)        //Repeat 400 times a revolution when setting is 400 on driver

{

digitalWrite(7,HIGH);    //Output high

delayMicroseconds(500);   //Set rotate speed

digitalWrite(7,LOW);      //Output low

delayMicroseconds(500);    //Set rotate speed

}

digitalWrite(6,LOW);        // Set high level direction

for(x=0;x<400;x++)

{

digitalWrite(7,HIGH);

delayMicroseconds(500);

digitalWrite(7,LOW);

delayMicroseconds(500);

}

delay(1000);

}

Will
 Will
(@will)

@kirk

Check your ENA (enable) and see if it's active HIGH or LOW and then connect it to the 5V or GND on the Arduino.