Notifications
Clear all

PCB trace width for 4 x DC motors with 2 x TB6612 @8.4V; based on max stall current x 4??? Help!

12 Posts
5 Users
9 Likes
(@alex-uk)
Topic starter  

Hi everyone. I'm a noob, on a steep learning curve trying to build my first PCB (using Easy EDA software) for a small robot car; but I don't have enough grasp of electronics to decide how wide my traces need to be and avoid things melting...what I need to understand is 'realistic' total (possibly peak?) current draw on my motors. Afraid I'm going to need as 'non-technical' an answer as possible (crayons? 🙂 ) but am doing my best to learn and have scoured this forum and the web for answers already. Really grateful for any help.

Details for context; 

I have four  DC TT gearmotors, usually using between 4-12V, such as this:

https://www.adafruit.com/product/3777

Power is 2 x 3.7V 18650 batteries so max 8.4V and nominal 7.4V.  Apparently the battery can provide large currents if needed, 10A or more certainly for short burst. 

Adafruit says that at 6V, each motor draws 160mA @250 rpm no load, and 1.5A when stalled. Hard to find info on current with loads, but some sites say max is 250mA.  I extrapolated that at the max 8.4V, the stall current on each motor would therefore be around 2.1A, but as it's not entirely linear, for safety I'm going with absolute worst case 2.5A max per motor if stalled. 

Maybe pertinently, Adafruit sell these with 28AWG wires attached.

I have no fuses planned (at the moment, though could if needed).

Motor control is through two TB6612 FNG motor controllers, each controlling a pair of motors (front pair, back pair respectively), and they can handle 3.2A on each channel.