Clear all

Linear actuator with DM542, 28BYJ-48, and Arduino

23 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
BBall Auto
(@bball-auto)
Topic starter  

Hi Dronebot Community.  I’m really glad to have found you. 

I am a newbie to driving motors (and Arduinos for that matter).  Below is a drawing depicting my basic setup.  I wish to drive a carriage on a 1.5-meter belt driven linear actuator using a bipolar NEMA23 stepper motor.  The intended motion is extremely simple.  I wish to have the carriage start at one side (or end) of the ∆Ltot and as quickly as possible transition to a constant speed toward the other side of the ∆Ltot.  I hope to move the NEMA23 at the higher end of its reasonable speed range, so I assume that an acceleration and deceleration distance is a good idea, though I hope to keep that distance as small as possible to maximize the length of my ∆LConstantSpeed.  I would like to trigger the NEMA23 “carriage slide” back and forth from one side to the other with a reliable button #1. 

On top of the carriage is a 28BYJ-48 bipolar.  This stepper only needs to perform a very simple 180° rotation upon the push

of a reliable button #2.

DronebotJuly17drawing.

Here is a summary of the sequence I hope to achieve:

1. Initial Position: Positioned at left most position or right most position.  Doesn’t matter which.
  2. Action 1: Upon pushing Button #1, NEMA23 drives carriage to the other side at constant speed with smallest possible acceleration/deceleration periods.  I am assuming this movement can easily be stopped by programming in a certain number of turns of the motor.
  3. Action 2: Upon pushing Button #2, 28BYJ-48 rotates 180°.
  4. Action 3 Upon pushing Button #1, NEMA23 drives carriage to the other side at constant speed with smallest possible acceleration/deceleration periods.  I am assuming this movement can easily be stopped by programming in a certain number of turns of the motor.
  5. Action 3: Upon pushing Button #2, 28BYJ-48 rotates 180°.
  6. Repeat as needed