Rubik's Cube

54 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
28.2 K Views
(@hurrikane)

Posted by: @robo-pi

@hurrikane

Since you brought this up I did some searches.   Based on what I have found the Rubik's Cube can actually be solved from any of its 43,252,003,274,489,856,000 states in exactly 20 moves. 

God's Number is 20

God's Number for Rubik's Cube

The guy in the video offered an algorithm that uses 25 moves.   It could have still be a crank video.   But apparently solving the Rubik's cube in even as few as 20 moves is possible.

Unless these web pages I've finding are also crank websites?

As I say, I don't have a Rubik's Cube here to even try these algorithms on.  So I have no direct experience with any of this.

It may be true that any cube can be solved in 20 moves, but what those exact moves and their exact sequence is dependent on the initial state and orientation of the cube, and it will be a unique sequence based on that state and no 20 odd step universal fixed algorithm is going to work. I didn't mean to push any buttons here, it's just that I've seen several variations on this prank and although this one was pretty well done in hiding the scrambling, (which I suspect was a cube swap during the final time lapse sequence with a cube that had been reverse scrambled using the algorithm.) it's still impossible to "statistically" solve the cube from any state with a fixed 20-odd step algorithm. I can solve the cube, but it usually takes me about 2 minutes since I solve it top down and go through different sequences depending on the cube's state. That does not mean there is only one way to solve the cube, or even that there are only 25 ways to solve the cube, merely that there are 43 x10^18 possible sequences and a huge percentage of those will not result in a solved cube. I believe the author of the video even admits it's a prank. Just sayin...

ReplyQuote
Robo Pi
(@robo-pi)
Robotics Engineer

Posted by: @squeaky