Clear all

Understanding the ESP-NOW code

4 Posts
3 Users
2 Likes
(@awpologies)
Topic starter  

Hi there!

I recently bought some ESP32 devkits and I am having a blast with them, but as I have very little experience with programming, I'm still trying to wrap my head around what the example code I'm using actually does. I was following the ESP-NOW tutorial on the DroneBot Youtube channel and came across this if-then statement:

if (esp_now_add_peer (&peerInfo) != ESP_OK) {
    Serial.println("Failed to add peer");
    return;
  }  

Now I'm having some questions about what this piece of code actually does:

1. In the first line of code, are we killing two birds with one stone here? Are we calling a function named esp_now_add_peer with an earlier declared variable named peerInfo, so it will add a peer, and then immediately check if it does not return with ESP_OK? If not what does it do?
  2. Where does the function esp_now_add_peer come from? Is it there because I included a header a header file called esp_now.h? If so, is there a way to look inside esp_now.h to see what other functions are available?
  3. Why is there an "&" in front of peerInfo? I understand it has to do something with the location of peerInfo in memory. Why do we need it here?
  4. Why do we type return; at the end of the if-then statement? What is this piece of code actually returning? Or are we just telling the compiler to return to the rest of the code?

Thanks a lot in advance for answering my questions! Any help would be greatly appreciated!

-AWPologies

Will
 Will
(@will)

Posted by: @awpologies

if (esp_now_add_peer (&peerInfo) != ESP_OK) {
    Serial.println("Failed to add peer");
    return;
  }  

Now I'm having some questions about what this piece of code actually does: