Notifications
Clear all

Help please. I'm a newbie and already need help getting started.

32 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
Ron
 Ron
(@zander)
Father of a miniature Wookie

@fishbone Are you sure your USB cable is a data cable, all 4 pins wired thru, or just a power cable with the 2 outer pins connected only. Just stick a meter probe in the middle, it doesn't matter if you short the 2 data pins, then stick the other meter lead in the middle of the other end as best you can. A beep (assuming you have a continuity tester - very needed when working with MPU's and MCU's) a beep means ok.

First computer 1959. Retired from my own computer company 2004.
Hardware - Expert in 1401, and 360, fairly knowledge in PC plus numerous MPU's and MCU's
Major Languages - Machine language, 360 Macro Assembler, Intel Assembler, PL/I and PL1, Pascal, Basic, C plus numerous job control and scripting languages.
Sure you can learn to be a programmer, it will take the same amount of time for me to learn to be a Doctor.

ReplyQuote
(@fishbone)
Topic starter  

@zander O.K.  It is working, but kindof wonkey.  First I want to thank you for all the help.  You were nice to hang with me.  Let me explain what I did. 

On the Adafruit website for this board is a section that talks about A UF2 bootloader and how to factory reset.  I followed the steps and saw what I did when I first connected the device.  It was the bootloader connecting as a drive. 

Anyway while looking at this info I found this on AdaFruit Website: 

Modern chips often have 'native' USB - that means that there is no separate chip for USB interface. It's all in one! Great for cost savings, simplicity of design, reduced size and more control. However, it means the chip must be self-aware enough to be able to put itself into bootload/upload mode on its own. That's fine 99% of the time but is very likely you will at some point get the board into an odd state that makes it too confused to bootload.

To enter the bootloader: