Notifications
Clear all

Help please. I'm a newbie and already need help getting started.

32 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@fishbone)
Topic starter  

Hi all...need some help getting up and running.  I am trying to upload my first sketch.  I am using Visual Code and the PlatformIO Extension.  I installed the latest version of python.  I can compile my sketch but when I try to upload I get the following error:

Advanced Memory Usage is available via "PlatformIO Home > Project Inspect"
RAM: [= ] 8.2% (used 26844 bytes from 327680 bytes)
Flash: [== ] 21.7% (used 283901 bytes from 1310720 bytes)
Building .pio\build\adafruit_qtpy_esp32s3_nopsram\firmware.bin
esptool.py v4.4
Creating esp32s3 image...
Merged 2 ELF sections
Successfully created esp32s3 image.
Configuring upload protocol...
AVAILABLE: cmsis-dap, esp-bridge, esp-builtin, esp-prog, espota, esptool, iot-bus-jtag, jlink, minimodule, olimex-arm-usb-ocd, olimex-arm-usb-ocd-h, olimex-arm-usb-tiny-h, olimex-jtag-tiny, tumpa
CURRENT: upload_protocol = esptool
Looking for upload port...
Auto-detected: COM5
Forcing reset using 1200bps open/close on port COM5
Waiting for the new upload port...
Uploading .pio\build\adafruit_qtpy_esp32s3_nopsram\firmware.bin
esptool.py v4.4
Serial port COM5
Connecting........

A serial exception error occurred: Cannot configure port, something went wrong. Original message: PermissionError(13, 'A device attached to the system is not functioning.', None, 31)
Note: This error originates from pySerial. It is likely not a problem with esptool, but with the hardware connection or drivers.
For troubleshooting steps visit: https://docs.espressif.com/projects/esptool/en/latest/troubleshooting.html
*** [upload] Error 1