Notifications
Clear all

Freenove ESP32-WROVER CAM Board

20 Posts
5 Users
4 Likes
(@azclay)
Topic starter  

Hi, I was wondering if anyone here had any experience with the Freenove ESP32 Wrover cam board.

Specifically, what I would like to do is interface it with an micro sd card module over SPI. I am a total newb to this hobby and as such find myself struggling to make sense of the spec sheet. If somebody would be kind enough to give me a hint of which pins I could assign to SPI on this board I would really appreciate it.

(@davee)

Hi @azclay,

Sorry I haven't any experience with that card ... only the more common ESP32 CAM board.

I have just had a quick Google, and my initial impression is that you have picked a very tough challenge, if only because documentation on these boards tends to be confusing, due to the number of variants, etc.

I notice the Freenove card does have a small download pack at :

https://freenove.com/fnk0060/

but I think most/all beginners would struggle to make sense of it

I am confused as to why you picked that particular board, given that the common ESP32 CAM comes complete with an SDCard socket already wired, so with a ubiquitous adapter card, you should be able to use micro SDCards with it.

You have probably already seen it, but just in case, I note Bill (AKA @dronebot-workshop) has done one of his excellent videos on this very subject.

https://forum.dronebotworkshop.com/2022-videos/esp32-cam-microsd-card-saving-images-with-the-esp32-cam/#post-28002

I hate to be defeatist, but my advice would be to get a card with SDCard adapter fitted, and follow Bill's video to get started, as you will have a much greater chance of success.

A small 'warning' .. the standard ESP32 CAM card does not have a USB interface ... I have followed Bill's earlier ESP32 cam, with a CH340 'gold' card ... and it worked first time. Some people have had problems with other USB cards ...