Notifications
Clear all

[Solved] Cannot get ESP32 NodeMCU to Bluetooth connect to PS3 Controller: Please help!

12 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@alex-uk)
Topic starter  

Hi everyone.

This is my first time asking for help on here, just joined and I'm new to electronics. In at the deep end here, so will put in as much detail on the issue and what I've tried so far as possible. Very grateful for any help...

I am trying to get my ESP32 (specifically,  ESP32S Node MCU dev kit v1) to pair/connect with old Playstation3 (PS3) game console controller (I have 2 of these, specifically official Sony PS3 sixaxis dual shock), using the BT classic capability. From herein, I'll use the terms PS3controller and ESP32 to avoid any confusion over the term 'controller'.

This is so that I can then use it as a controller for robot car projects etc. In theory, this should be feasible with ESP32 and give inputs from all buttons/joysticks on the controller; here are some links to videos and tutorials (note there's some bad info in first one which will detail below), that come with all the code and instructions, and link to the software mentioned:

Page and video called 'PS3 Controller + esp32 + robotic arm = awesome! (Building a wireless esp32 powered robotic arm)' at these links:

https://www.anyonecanbuildrobots.com/post/esp32-ps3-controller-robotic-arm-awesome

Similar links showing same thing:

https://github.com/jvpernis/esp32-ps3

https://techtutorialsx.com/2020/02/16/esp32-connecting-a-ps3-controller/

https://www.dfrobot.com/blog-1513.html

I have tried sketches from all these sites, and also the simplest example, called 'Ps3Connect' that comes with the PS3Controller.h library (see below).

I'm working in the Arduino IDE as that's all I know how to use right now (conscious that ESP32 IDF software is also out there, perhaps might need to be part of solution...?). 

But it doesn't work! Can't connect the PS3 controllers to ESP...here's more detail and example code at the bottom: