Clear all

ALKALINE D-cell ESP8266-12E

9 Posts
3 Users
1 Likes
Myron
(@myron)
Topic starter  

I am a self taught amateur. I may have basic nomenclature or assumptions wrong.

IMG 20200512 213126

My project goal is to receive a temperature of the garden soil at sunrise each day.  I figured I could put an Arduino in a jar and leave it for a year.  I have the software figured out and it works fine with a LoLin Node MCU.  But to power an ESP8266-12E with a single D-cell is a different thing altogether. 

Where I am at now is that I have a blinking sketch with sleep loaded on an ESP8266-12E with  a BMP280 I will use later.  Powering this I have a bench power to a Pololu U1V11f3  then to my Arduino.

My problem is I don’t know how to size any capacitors I may need to add or even if I have the right regulator.

Andreas Speiss #47 shows a wattage spike when the Arduino connects to WiFi, so he recommended a 1000uF cap.

If I don’t add any caps my Arduino will blink normally. 

If I add a 2200uF cap on the battery side of the regulator, it don’t work.

if I put the 2200uF cap on the 3.3v side of the regulator, it don’t work

Why are sometimes an Electrolytic capacitor recommended instead of a ceramic?

Do some caps leak current? I really want to avoid this.

Should I be buying 3.3v caps?

I would appreciate any comments.. 

https://www.pololu.com/product/2563/resources   < Pololu U1V11f3

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32817286611.html   < BMP280 datasheet

https://docs.ai-thinker.com/_media/esp8266/docs/esp12e_datasheet.pdf   < ESP8266-12E  datasheet

< Speiss #47

Will
 Will
(@will)

Posted by: @myron

My problem is I don’t know how to size any capacitors I may need to add or even if I have the right regulator.

Andreas Speiss #47 shows a wattage spike when the Arduino connects to WiFi, so he recommended a 1000uF cap.

If I don’t add any caps my Arduino will blink normally. 

If I add a 2200uF cap on the battery side of the regulator, it don’t work.