@pugwash

THANKS!  Very interesting indeed.

SteveG

ReplyQuote
byron
(@byron)
No Title

@pugwash

Thats a very good idea indeed.  Duly noted and copied to my snippets files 😀.  Thanks for sharing.

ReplyQuote
(@ajpatrick)

ah! this is close to what i am trying to achieve in This Post. i will try and work out how to make this fit my project but i am very new to it all. Thanks for posting it!

ReplyQuote
 Royz
(@royz)

@pugwash

How does the summertime adjust work.  I am on the east coast USA and time.gov says my offset is -4 hrs from UTC in April (EDST).  If I use -10800 for offset(3 hrs), and -3600 (1 hr) for summertime adjust, I get the proper time on clock.  Will this automatically correct in November?

ReplyQuote
Ron
 Ron
(@zander)
Father of a miniature Wookie

@royz With any luck, we will be rid of the DST before next November as the US has finally passed the Federal enabling legislation. Now, it is up to the State and, in Canada, the Provincial authorities to make it happen. I know on the west coast that all the players, namely CA, OR, WA, and BC, have an interest in being on the same time due to cross-border trading, I assume equally so on the east coast, but that involves a great deal more players and politicians being what they are will need to be voted out until all players are agreeable. Just because the public wants something doesn't mean we get it, that would be a democracy, and neither country is that close to that lofty goal. In the meantime, seasonal adjustments are not universally supported by the RTC chips themselves. Some may have onboard logic to do that, but generally, it is up to the supporting libraries to do that, and you probably need to seed the library with either a reliable time server like NTP or a GPS source.

First computer 1959. Retired from my own computer company 2004.
Hardware - Expert in 1401, and 360, fairly knowledge in PC plus numerous MPU's and MCU's