Using LCD Displays ...

Notifications
Clear all

Using LCD Displays with Arduino

37 Posts
16 Users
3 Likes
(@martin-richard)

Thanks For The Replies i will try the suggestions when i next revisit the program

the suggestions the library is out of date and POSITVE is talking about the backlight makes sense

Best Regards And Thankyou

Martin

ReplyQuote
(@rdacosta)

In this older sketch from 2018 I am trying to make it work for me.

Line--LiquidCrystal_I2C lcd(i2c_addr, en, rw, rs, d4, d5, d6, d7, bl, POSITIVE);

I keep getting error--exit status 1,

'POSITIVE' was not declared in this scope'     And I don't know how to fix it.

If anyone can help I would be very grateful, since I'm new to this.

Thanks

ReplyQuote
noweare
(@noweare)

Positive is located in LiquidCrystal_i2c.h around line 162 for my h file

/* PCF8574 backlight controls */
typedef enum : uint8_t
{
POSITIVE = 0x01, //backlight switching polarity
NEGATIVE = 0x00 //backlight switching polarity
}
backlightPolarity;

ReplyQuote
Sean451
(@sean451)

Sorry if this question is self-evident, but is the LiquidCrystal_i2c.h included in the library?

--->Sean

(◕(' 人 ') ◕)

ReplyQuote
(@rdacosta)

@sean451yes it is

ReplyQuote
Melbul
(@melbul)

Check to see if POSITIVE is declared after the sketch is trying to use it?

ReplyQuote
(@rdacosta)

@melbul      How do I show it as being declared? I'm very new at programming.

ReplyQuote
Melbul
(@melbul)

Likewise, very new at this, but an issue is, if you call for variable before it has been set up, you will get that error.

The Arduino IDE lets you get away with setting your variables anywhere in the sketch but other IDe's won't!

ReplyQuote
(@rdacosta)

@melbul    Thank you. I'll keep working on this.

ReplyQuote
etech_student
(@etech_student)